RIOT OS for data logger system with focus on maintenance

Dear RIOT OS community,

I’m Daniel a PhD in Hydrology at GFZ Potsdam and currently working on a data logger system for use in extensive field campaigns. As far as I have understood, RIOT OS seems to be very suitable for the tasks I have in mind. Since I am new to using an OS on microcontrollers (rather than running simple single-thread applications), I would very much like to discuss with a RIOT expert (or several) what is possible and what is an illusion of my perception. Here are some points to give you a bit of an idea what I mean:

• Adding pre-compiled sensor driver packages to a running application Let’s say we have 20 stations running but with varying numbers and types of sensors (e.g. sensors monitoring trees only in forests, discharge sensors only at rivers, etc.). Is it possible to have a common application running on all stations and adding/removing pre-compiled sensor driver packages to change sensor setup? It would allow easier on-site maintenance, where fast adding/removing sensors would not lead to changing source code and compiling a new application for one particular station (maintenance of course always happens in winter, at night, with strong winds, heavy rain, in a remote forest, hard to work on source code :slight_smile: ).

• Having a web interface running, accessible via Ethernet or BLE (for on-site maintenance) and remote (e.g. via LTE CAT M1/NB1 for administration) to allow configuring sensor setup (number and type) as well as general configuration (measurement interval, time of data upload, etc.) A simple graphical web interface would ease the maintenance for the technician as he would “only” need to change configurations rather than changing source code and compiling (see point above). Since I am working currently with OpenMediaVault, I really appreciate their web interface concept, with the possibility to revert all currently made changes.