Could Someone Provide Guidance on How to Set up a Custom Driver in RIOT OS?

Hello everyone :wave:

I am currently working on a project that involves incorporating a customised sensor into a RIOT OS based system. I have some knowledge of mobile devices and c programming; but this is my first time working with the RIOT OS.

This are the details of my project: :slightly_smiling_face:

The sensor is an xyz123 temperature and humidity sensor that communicates through I2C. I have the documentation and have earlier connected it with the arduino platform; so I am comfortable with its communication protocol and what is required commands. I am using an STM32 Nucleo platform, the nucleo f401re. I quickly set up the working setting for the RIOT OS and ran a few simple examples to become comfortable with the system. I created a simple RIOT application to set up the I2C capability on the Composer device. I created some beginning code to scan for I2C devices; and the sensor was successfully found.

Although I am already reaching the point where I need to create an appropriate driver for this sensor; I am not sure what guidelines and specific methods are inside the RIOT OS structure.

• Is there an optimal structure and pattern for creating device programs in the RIOT OS? For example; are there provided files and locations where the driver code should be stored?
  • Are there any existing Methods and protocols in RIOT OS that I should follow when creating the driver? I discovered there are the saul and saul reg modules; should I use them, and if so, how?
  • What is the preferred method for handling I2C connection in RIOT OS? Are there any special functions and modules I should use to send and receive information through I2C?
  • What are the best ways to verify and fix apis in RIOT OS? Are there resources and strategies for improving this process?
  • Can somebody provide some example programs for similar indicators that I may use as a reference?