Updates to the build system - modules definition

Hi Dan, Gaetan,

I wonder, what problems are we trying to solve?

Maybe we can clearly enumerate them first so that we can check later, whether an improved solution really solves these problems.

Cheers,   Thomas

Hi,

I think the problem to solve is that RIOT is very difficult to configure.

While working with other IoT operating systems, one can notice that RIOT is very hardly configurable, unless we are very familiar with the build system and specific RIOT CFLAGS and special key-words (USEMODULE, USEPKG, etc…).

Besides, I have no knowledge of a tool that can parse RIOT makefiles and give an insight about module usage, dependencies, features, etc.

Thus IMHO a way to make, first, RIOT more friendly configurable it’s a good and necessary feature. This would also allow to eventually build a dependency tree in a more human-readable fashion, as well as give some help to get different product lines according to the selected features.

However, I’d say that deep modifications to the current build system can lead to instability or buggy builds. I’m not against any improvement to the build system, but maybe as a first approach some additions like files in any more descriptive (parseable) language can help to describe RIOT in a higher level, without affecting at all the underlying system. Then, with the knowledge obtained thanks to such a description, we can imagine to generate makefiles or make “make” calls with the specific RIOT CFLAGS, USEMODULE, etc.

My 2c.

Cheers,

Hi Thomas, Francisco, all,

I will try to summarize with three aspects formatted as problems.

Just for clarity, in the following text, use the words ‘description’, ‘informations’, ‘configuration’, ‘dependencies’ to describe all the meta-information that can be attached to a module in addition to its source code.