Size of the my project

Hello, I’m new to this mailing list and to RIOT, I hope I can have some help.

I want to use a board like the udoo where to put RIOT and my program that I’m developing, the question is: since the udoo, as well as all the other boards, have a limited amount of memory (ram and rom) how big can my project be? I’m developing a project which is more than 20MB of size is that too much? As far as I got, usually the in the boards the ROM is 256KB or 512KB, but the udoo has the possibility to put an external memory card, so the available memory would be bigger?

I’m probably doing a lot of confusion and I’m sorry if my question is dumb, but I hope someone can clarify to me this thing.

Thanks. Cheers Mark

Hi Mark, which Udoo board are you talking about exactly? The memory constraint is dictated by the hardware, essentially. The Udoo board supported by RIOT so far is this one https://github.com/RIOT-OS/RIOT/wiki/Board:-UDOO And on this board, RIOT runs on the Arduino part of the hardware, not on the quad-core. Cheers, Emmanuel

Hi Emmanuel, Yes exactly that one.

The UDOO’s hardware has 512KB of flash memory, but there’s a possibility to add a micro SD card of 8GB or more, so since that my project is 20MB, is it okay or still it has to be less than 512KB? Because if I can’t overcome that size then everything I did is wrong. That’s why it’s important for me to know it.

Thank you. Mark

Hi Mark!

The UDOO's hardware has 512KB of flash memory, but there's a possibility to add a micro SD card of 8GB or more, so since that my project is 20MB, is it okay or still it has to be less than 512KB?

Well, first of all you would have to write a driver to support this card reader on the board (which, normally, shouldn't be too much of a problem). But more problematic is the fact that you won't be able to execute any code from the card directly, but would have to implement some swapping mechanism, which is probably a really challenging task.