RIOT Vs Iotivity, AllJoyn, Thread

Dear RIOTers , I’m a MSc student and I’m working on RIOT for my thesis. I ask you what is the future of RIOT in term of high level protocol like IoTivity, AllJoyn and Thread. Is anyone writing a porting of these protocols or is anything planned? or, which is the most suitable high level protocol for RIOT? I found a thread in this mailing list about this topic, but it is quite old and I think something is changed. I hope I explained myself well. Regards, Mattia Antonini

What I can answer from my point of view:

• Iotivity would be great in RIOT, Soletta project [1] imported it for RIOT, I haven’t tried it but it seems to work. I think Riot should have an implementation of Iotivity directly in its repo (package) so it will be better maintain.
  • AllJoyn, I haven’t heard about a port to RIOT but is big and I would better in Iotivity
  • Thread is not high level, it is a network stack based on 6Lowpan and CoAP. You could add Iotivity in top of Thread for instance. Nevertheless, it would be great to use Thread on RIOT! By the way, Nest has just released open source version of Thread weeks ago called openthread [2]. You could try to add it to RIOT?

[1]https://github.com/solettaproject/soletta

Hi,

Hi!

- Iotivity would be great in RIOT, Soletta project [1] imported it for RIOT, I haven't tried it but it seems to work. I think Riot should have an implementation of Iotivity directly in its repo (package) so it will be better maintain.

Very interesting and good to know. I was not aware of this project (and I think most of the RIOT maintainers weren't either). And yes, for maintainability a package in RIOT might make sense. We just need a maintainer willing to do so. :wink:

Baptiste, do you know the people behind Soletta?

Cheers, Oleg