RIOT on Arduino UNO

Hi ,

I am a complete newbie to RIOT OS . I have Arduino Uno board (based on ATmega328) and I would like to install RIOT on it . It appears there is no support for Arduino UNO presently.

On reading through certain older posts, (http://lists.riot-os.org/pipermail/devel/2013-May/000028.html) , I learned that ATmega328 has RAM of 2K - which would be insufficient for RIOT plus any application to run.

I would like to understand the following:

1. I believe there are ways to expand RAM in Arduino UNO, using SRAM ICs and SPI bus upto 32K . So would it be feasible or make sense to port RIOT on such an expanded RAM arrangement ? If yes, I would like to try doing this exercise , though to be honest I don’t have prior experience in such an activity
  2. Is RAM the only constraint for porting RIOT on to Arduino UNO ? are there any other constraints to be thought through before taking on porting?

Regards

Sudarshan

Eric Fleury, Professor

DANTE INRIA TEAM ENS LYON Tel: +33 672 162974

Hi ,

I am a complete newbie to RIOT OS . I have Arduino Uno board (based on ATmega328) and I would like to install RIOT on it . It appears there is no support for Arduino UNO presently.

On reading through certain older posts, (http://lists.riot-os.org/pipermail/devel/2013-May/000028.html) , I learned that ATmega328 has RAM of 2K - which would be insufficient for RIOT plus any application to run.

I would like to understand the following:

1. I believe there are ways to expand RAM in Arduino UNO, using SRAM ICs and SPI bus upto 32K . So would it be feasible or make sense to port RIOT on such an expanded RAM arrangement ?

I am afraid that such memory is only for data and will not be accessible via the program counter.

Hi,

Hi,