Recommendations for Porting RIOT (Ludwig Ortmann)

Hi Cédric,

thank you for the tip! I'm exploring a different approach at the moment though: It's possible to modify the program counter that is being used when returning from a signal handler in the signal handler. This is undocumented but works in at least Linux and OSX. If I'm not missing something concept-wise I'll have this working soon. It's just a little fiddly for me as I am not experienced with assembler.

From what I gather, using ptrace would amount to the same underlying

strategy (change PC on return to user space from signal handler), but add considerable overhead (double the number of system calls and processes), right?

Cheers, Ludwig

Cédric Adjih schrieb:

Hello Ludwig,   Just jumping into the conversation, but: did you consider using ptrace as a work-around, if you cannot solve the preemptive scheduler issue ? Conceptually, it won't be far from being a "virtual machine" (that's the approach of "User Mode Linux"), and not so elegant, but I guess with something like "python-ptrace" it might be hacked

together pretty quickly ?

Regards, -- Cedric From: "Ludwig Ortmann" <ludwig.ortmann@fu-berlin.de> To: "RIOT OS kernel developers" <devel@riot-os.org> Sent: Wednesday, April 24, 2013 6:21:26 PM Subject: Re: [riot-devel] Recommendations for Porting RIOT (Ludwig

Ortmann)

Hi Takai, I was already discussing RIOT ns-3 porting with Daniel Camara from

INRIA. He proposed a Google Summer of Code project (1) for this task which I am going to apply for.

At the moment I am working on porting RIOT as a UNIX process (the

"native" cpu/board).

If you still want to know technical details, please say so. Cheers, Ludwig

Hi, Actually I am applying for the same gsoc project. And yes, I'm looking

for the

technical details.

A porting guide is in the makes but not available as of now. The architecture is relatively clear, though. There is a well defined

set of functions one needs to implement.