Reading ADC inputs on a BluePill board

Hello all,

just a small question on RIOT-OS on the bluepill board.

I’m not getting any ‘actual’ values when using ADC8 and ADC9. The values are somewhat constant. I’m basicly using the example as mentioned in the periph_adc test program. Only using 12 bit resolution and only ADC inputs 8 and 9. I’ve connected the inputs via a potentiometer to the 3.3V supply. I’ve verified that the input value changes via a voltmeter.

So does any have an idea what could be the problem? Has any one used the ADC’s 8 or 9 on the blue pill?

Thanks. John

Maybe make a bug report on github. It might get more traction.

Hi Kevin. Thanks for the tip.

I’m a newbie on RIOT-OS so I thought that a bug report might be too much. Assumed that I probably made a mistake somewhere down the line. I’ve `modified - changed from m10 bit to 12 bit resolution - and recompiled the perihp_adc example from the RIOT test folder. And got the same results. Exchanged the bluepill PCB with another one. Again the same results. So I get a value in the range of 1823 … 1822 for ADC 8 and 1527 … 1530 for ADC 9. No change when I modify the voltage levels at the input pins of PB0 and PB1. Changing to other pins have the identical behavior, only other values.

I think bug reports would be easier to search for others having the same issues. Either way I will look into it today!

Looking into this I found:

Running test/periph_adc with the #define RES ADC_RES_12BIT

ADC_LINE(8) is constant (as that is the internal temperature) and ADC_LINE(9): is also constant as that is the internal voltage reference. As indicated https://github.com/RIOT-OS/RIOT/blob/master/boards/common/blxxxpill/include/periph_conf.h#L66

Now I guess you are talking about ADC_LINE(6) and ADC_LINE(7) which are connected to PB0 (ch 8) and PB1 (ch9) respectively.