Porting RIOT on nRF5340-dk

Hi, I am somewhat new to RIOT. I have used RIOT on nRF52840-dongle for now and it’s working quite well compared to my expectations and impression for other RTOSes out there.

I have an nRF5340-dk board as well but unfortunately, RIOT support is not there!! Soon or letter I wish to port RIOT for this board as well. The challenge is that the CPU which is ARM Cortex-m33 is also not listed in the supported CPUs lists. This might make porting difficult.

Anyone can tell me how much time and energy it will take to do this task? Also,

1 Like

The list of CPUs is probably not up to date - better look at the code :wink: nrf9160 and stm32f5 use a Cortex-M33 too and they work fine.

So to port the nRF5340 you only have to take care of the clock setup, interrupts, maybe some peripheral need modification. Take a look at cpu/nrf9160, that might be closest related (better compare the data sheets).

But I imagine it should be pretty straightforward. Feel free to open a Pull Request at any time to get some feedback on your approach!

The nRF5340 has two cortex m33. One for application and another for Radio.

Oh yes, that is going to complicate things as there is currently no multi-processor support in RIOT. AFAIR the two cores on the nRF5340 will also see a different set of peripherals.

The easiest solution might be to run two instances of RIOT that then somehow communicate. Ideally we could just have the network related threads on the network core - GNRC is already based on message passing, so it would be quite a natural fit.

But that would only be the second step. First try getting the application core up and running with nrf5x_common peripheral drivers. Once we have that, the matter of multi-processor support becomes more pressing :wink:

1 Like

Phew, that’s gonna be interesting. The block diagrams show that some peripherals are shared (but accessed through different buses), and others not.