Platform with no UART stdio

Hi

I am very new to RIOT, and I don’t yet know my way around the code, so sorry if this is an easy question.

I am trying to create a platform based on the samd21 that has no UART for stdio. Unfortunately its seems a uart stdio is pretty much assumed through a lot of the code. What is the cleanest way to prevent things like uart_stdio_init from being invoked by newlib/syscalls.c::_init() ?

There must be some kind of mechanism because I don’t think the native platform takes that code path.

I might later add stdio based on an in-memory array manipulated over JTAG (like SEGGER RTT), but I am not sure which layer to add this in as. Any suggestions?

Thanks Michael

Hey Michael,

I am very new to RIOT, and I don't yet know my way around the code, so sorry if this is an easy question.

There are no stupid questions, only stupid answers.

I am trying to create a platform based on the samd21 that has no UART for stdio. Unfortunately its seems a uart stdio is pretty much assumed through a lot of the code. What is the cleanest way to prevent things like uart_stdio_init from being invoked by newlib/syscalls.c::_init() ?

This depends a little on which platform you are using. For arm, uart_stdio_init is called in newlibs _syscalls.

Currently there is no really clean way to change that.

The least-intrusive way that comes to mind:

You could create a module with the same function signatures as "sys/uart_stdio", and change newlibs dependency to that.

Implementing these:

void uart_stdio_init(void); int uart_stdio_read(char* buffer, int count); int uart_stdio_write(const char* buffer, int len);

Should be enough.

In the mid-to-long term we'll need to do this pluggable.

There must be some kind of mechanism because I don't think the native platform takes that code path.

That's because native uses the system's native C library. uart_stdio is pulled in as dependency of newlib on ARM.

Kaspar

Hi

Thank you for your advice, that worked quite well.