Openserial on non-root Openmote-B with openWSN

Hi,

Thanks for your valuable time. I am a newbie and kindly pardon me if my query is a simple one.

I have a few Openmote-B devices and I am trying with openWSN(6TiSCH stack) in RIOT. I can successfully flash a non-root Openmote-B device with “RIOT/tests/pkg_openwsn” and interact through the shell (without openwsn_serial). In order to view the debugging information, I enabled the optional module, openserial in the non-root node (USEMODULE += openwsn_serial). Now the characters printed on my screen does not appear properly (looks like some junk characters as shown below). I was going through https://api.riot-os.org/group__pkg__openwsn.html and I came across, “For non-root nodes, OpenSerial only provides debugging information so no special care needs to be taken”.

I might have missed something. Any workaround to sort out this will be very helpful.

Thanks, Jobish

Output of BOARD=openmote-b make term

/home/jobish/RIOT/dist/tools/pyterm/pyterm -p “/dev/ttyUSB1” -b “115200”
2021-03-16 16:15:15,813 # Connect to serial port /dev/ttyUSB1 Welcome to pyterm! Type ‘/exit’ to exit. 2021-03-16 16:15:16,844 # ��x���x���x���x��x��x<�x<��x<������x���x���x���x��x��x��x���x���x���x��x��x<�x<��x��x��x<�x�x��xx<x�x������x<���x���x���x���x��x��x<�x<�����������~Sm,��ͺSm,���~Sm,��nVnV_nSm, �Sm,�SmصSm, �Sm, 2021-03-16 16:15:17,174 # ��Sm, ��~Sm, ��~Sm,*Sm,�m,����E����Sm,��3;Sm,��n�Sm,�Sm,��z�z�u�~Sm, 2021-03-16 16:15:17,414 # �eSm,�Smص~~Sm,

Hi @jobishjohn, openserial uses HDLC to encode the uart data, so its normal to see rubbish. As its mentioned in the docs that output should be fed to openvisualizer, the output will thus only make sense if using openvisualizer.

In RIOT, the first configured uart device is mapped to STDIO in most cases. In OpenWSN however, the openserial tool uses uart to feed external software running on a host computer such as Openvisualizer