Odd problems with xtimer

Hi

I am new to RIOT, so I hope this is user error, but I am having some grief inside xtimer. I am running a mesh of nodes with a full RPL stack (in case that’s relevant) and the biggest problem I have at the moment is nodes hanging in _add_timer_to_list in xtimer_core (link)

Using GDB, it seems that one of the nodes in the list points to itself, hence the endless loop.

(gdb) print/x *list_head $3 = 0x200010a4 (gdb) print/x (*list_head)->next $4 = 0x200010a4

My first question is: when is this possible? It seems at first glance that all code paths that lead here call remove_timer to prevent this sort of problem. I don’t access a the same timer object from two different threads. My code using xtimer functions is not reentered.

I don’t use that many timer operations in my application code, but I do assume that the following functions don’t require any freeing or removing afterwards, am I wrong?

xtimer_now xtimer_set_msg (the msg is statically alllocated) xtimer_msg_receive_timeout xtimer_usleep_until

Any help would be appreciated.

Hey Michael,

it seems that one of the nodes in the list points to itself, hence the endless loop.

My first question is: when is this possible? It seems at first glance that all code paths that lead here call remove_timer to prevent this sort of problem.

It should not be possible (tm).

I took another look at the code, it seems to me that timer->next gets overwritten whenever a timer is set, so there can't be some outdated value.

It might be that the list logic has a bug somewhere, but I remember testing them quite rigourously.

I don't access a the same timer object from two different threads. My code using xtimer functions is not reentered.

I don't use that many timer operations in my application code, but I do assume that the following functions don't require any freeing or removing afterwards, am I wrong?

Completely right.

Could you tell us more on how you are using timers?