Newcomer

Hi all RIOT OS gurus, let me introduce myself, I am Jerome a newbie in the embedded world. I was previously Java architect as a freelance during 17 years (yes nobody is perfect!!). I want to start a project with a quite tiny MCU (Cortex ARM M3 L serie or maybe Cortex ARM M0+). I checked the RTOS landscape and I was seduced by your project: - C naming conventions are standard (I can't read FreeRTOS code it's horrible) - small - quite well documented - the idea to provide a Docker image is nice but I was unable to launch it!!! - your build system is really nice , being able to launch the build natively is a genious idea!!! I tried to use NuttX but was unable to build it...

I try to read the code (samples) and the docs .... I have just a small question, even if I am a newbie with RTOS I am quite surprised not to see in the samples/interfaces a way to schedule timers ? This is a classical from the RTOS isn't it ? These small schedulers just run jobs...I saw in the samples, threads (OK) and message queues (perfect for inter threads communication) but no timers...

I'd like to thank you for your work. I imagine I will have many other questions and may be some kinds of proposals to your community (adding drivers/boards).

Kind regards Jerome akka deadbrain

Hi Jerome, welcome to the RIOT community. With your Docker problem I can’t help sadly, since I never used the image, but to your timer question: Currently we are in a transition period: The older vtimer [1], based on hwtimer [2], that is on its way to be replaced by an new API xtimer [3] which utilizes the peripheral timer API [4]. If you want to schedule an event with both of them you use the vtimer_set_msg() or xtimer_set_msg() functions respectively. It schedules an IPC message send by the ISR at the scheduled time. Note that this is independent from the kernel’s thread scheduler since it is tick-less and purely event based. The *_set_msg() function allow you to schedule such events based on time.