Interpreting the deps_info dump - riotboot a 'missing feature'?

Hi folk, I’m new to RIOT and just exploring to find my way round and understand things.

I’ve been able to build and flash a ‘hello world’ for the arduino due that I’m playing with.

I ran the build system sanity check just to see what it would tell me, and noticed that, for the due, ‘riotboot’ is listed as both ‘required’ and ‘missing’.

Can anyone explain what this apparent contradiction is telling me ?

It means that you are trying to build an application that requires the riotboot feature but this feature is not provided by the arduino-due. There was an attempt to add it to that board but it never got merged.

I also started with RIOT OS on the Arduino. It works, but you are not getting that far with it. It is a 8-Bit Microcontroller with a lot of limitation. I recommend to switch to at least the STM32F1. The Bluepill is in a similar price range. You get the Bluepill + STLinkv2 for ~4 - 5 USD on eBay/Aliexpress. It’s a quite powerful MCU/board with a huge range of GPIO. The Bluepill even has a USB port. But I am not sure, if the STM32F1 USB is already supported in the kernel.

/e sorry, my mistake.

If I was using an 8 bit AVR I’d agree with you. But I’m using a DUE ( 32bit ARM Cortex M3 ).

1 Like

Hmmm. I’m not trying to actually build any specific application here. I’m running the RIOT supplied build system consistency checker script ( save_all_dependencies_resolution_variables.sh ). This is the output I’m looking at :

BOARD = arduino-due
CPU = sam3
CPU_MODEL = sam3x8e
CPU_FAM = sam3
CPU_CORE = cortex-m3
CPU_ARCH = armv7m
FEATURES_PROVIDED = periph_adc periph_dac periph_gpio periph_gpio_irq periph_pwm periph_rtt periph_spi periph_timer periph_uart arduino cortexm_mpu periph_cpuid periph_hwrng arch_32bit arch_arm cortexm_svc cpp cpu_check_address cpu_core_cortexm libstdcpp periph_pm puf_sram ssp no_idle_thread cpu_sam3