Improving support for OpenMote-cc2538

Hi,

I'd like to try and improve RIOT OS support for the OpenMote platform in general, and the TI cc2538 MCU specifically. The most pressing item for me currently is RF support, but I would also like to see support for the ROM API and a few other things (including the sensors on the OpenBattery board, eventually).

I'm new to RIOT and thought I'd try to clear up a few things before getting my hands dirty, so you'll have to excuse me if some of these questions seem obvious/stupid/irrelevant:

1) TI provide open-source firmware for the cc2538, but I can't find any trace of it in the RIOT tree. It seems like there are a few cherry-picked bits and pieces but not in the same format/layout as the original firmware. Is there a reason for not including TI's firmware in the tree verbatim (I'm thinking licensing/re-distribution issues, architectural or coding-style differences, etc)? It seems like this would make fully supporting the MCU a lot easier.

2) To avoid duplication of effort, is there anyone else already working on RF support for this chip?

3) Where should a hypothetical RF driver for the cc2538 live in the tree? Since it's on-chip should it live in the cpu subdir? Or programmed as a "module" the same way as for peripherals?

4) Are there any guidelines or example code for this kind of work? The only other on-chip RF driver I could find to use as a reference is for the nrf51. Perhaps this will do to get me on the right track, but just thought I'd check if there's something I missed.

Thanks! /Aaron

Aaron,

Great idea to improve the OpenMote integration! Have you tried contacting the OpenMote developers for guidance? In my experience they have been very helpful and accommodating. I expect they would appreciate your effort.

Ken

Hi Ken,

Well, I figured this would be the place to reach the devs :slight_smile: