How to use analogRead() in riot for esp8266 board and ldr sensor

Hi, I am new to Riot and a beginner in programming. I am doing an experiment on LDR sensor with Esp8266 board for reading captured data from a basic ldr sensor (the one from the arduino beginners kit). I am working on XUbuntu 20.04.4 LTS x86_64.

So far I just want to stdout the data in terminal, the long term idea is to send this information as a UDP message.

If there is a canonical way to address this need, could anybody point it out for me?

The original arduino code i am trying to replicate is the following

==Arduino==

const int ldrPin = A0;
int lastRead = 0;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(ldrPin, INPUT);
}
void loop() {
  int ldrStatus = analogRead(ldrPin);
  int diff = ldrStatus - lastRead;
  if (!(dif > -5 && dif < 5)) {
    lastRead = ldrStatus;
    Serial.println(ldrStatus);
  }
  delay(2000);
}

==================================

Below the main two approaches I have tried so far:

Using GPIO

For accomplishing I firstly tried to do it by following Getting Started with Arduino and RIOT-OS: Setting up RIOT-OS on Arduino.

After modyfing the Hello world example I end up with this code and without modifying its Makefile.

===== Makefile =====

USEMODULE += esp_wifi
USEMODULE += gnrc_sock
USEMODULE += gnrc_sock_check_reuse
USEMODULE += gnrc_sock_udp
USEMODULE += gnrc_ipv6

===== main.c =====

#include <stdio.h>
#include "periph/gpio.h" 
#define ldrPin GPIO_PIN(2,0)
int main(void)
{
   gpio_init (ldrPin, GPIO_IN);
   while(1) {
    puts("Light");
	int ldrStatus = gpio_read(ldrPin);
    printf(" %d MCU.\n", ldrStatus);

}
    return 0;
}

Note please that GPIO_PIN(2,0) value I guessed from the example. I am trying to point to the Analogic 0 pin.

This program compiles and run, but it returns only 0/1, it’s not what i need. I would like to get the same kind of readings as with Arduino IDE.