[GSOC] Introduction

Hello,

I’m a 3rd year student at Politehnica University of Bucharest , Romania.

I have former experience with communication protocols and worked on a few college projects involving DNS Resolver and File Sharing protocols for Linux among others.Currently I am also attending an Operating Systems course aimed at teaching low level programming which will undoubtedly be of great help.I would like to apply for GSOC for the “Implementation of LwM2M” project.

If possible I would like to discuss with the mentor for this project on how to approach it.

Thank you, Alexandru Razvan Caciulescu

I am also interested in lwm2m support in RIOT, professionally. I have colleagues working on an lwm2m implementation for Contiki which can be useful for testing interoperability. I can help with the review and testing of the gsoc implementation, as well as technical discussions.

Best regards, Joakim

Hello Alexandru,

welcome to RIOT and thanks for your interest in lwm2m.

We do not have the final assignment of mentors to projects yet, as we will assign the mentors once we know which projects are gonna be worked on to archive the best possible fit.

For discussing your approach, the best thing would be to do it on this mailing list. This way you profit from help by everyone interested in the community - and this is how we discuss our technical problems and ideas anyhow.

To approach the project, I would suggest you do the following:

1. get the lwm2m specifications from the oma website [1]
  2. read them and try to understand the rough design (third party sources can help a lot here…)
  3. try to sketch out an implementation architecture by naming the main modules and interfaces
  4. discuss this architecture here at the mailing list

When the rough architecture of the implementation becomes clear, it should be easy to derive some milestones and a project plan from it.

Let me know if you have questions and looking forward to discuss the project further with you!