GSoC 2015 Introduction - N1 BLE Project

HI RIOT Developers !

I’m Alexis, from Lyon, France, student in Telecom Engineering. I’m fond of IoT, embedded development, FOS Projects, and I’m currently doing a master thesis in Barcelona, wich focus on Thread (http://www.threadgroup.org/) protocols stack.

I will be really interested to take part of RIOT community as developer, starting working on BLE Project. Even if I’ve no experience with RIOT development (I just use it on MSP430) , I well know BLE at different level of the stack : I’ve worked on Nordic nrf1822 eval board, nrf8001 with Arduino, Android API, and Bluez driver on Unix system. Obviously, I’m familiar with C/C++ and embedded development, on different platforms such as Arduino, STM32L0, MSP430 or M2M Gateways (arm poky toolchain with Yocto builded distro).

As this is just an introduction and presentation post, I’ve not yet technical questions (but they will come :slight_smile: ) But if can someone introduce me the community, core developers, processes, to know you a bit more, that will be great ! Some questions: When are next virtual meeting, or call (18/03) ? the next Hack’n’ACK (26/03)? Who is the potential mentor for N1 BLE project (or the dev that best known RIOT network implementation) ? In my point of view, implementing complete BLE stack is a huge work for 4 month project. What do you think about that ? Which is the priority (central, peripheral roles) ? For you, what’s better for the community : unachieved work on bigger project, or reduced but well tested and documented keys functionalities ?

To conclude, I’ve participated (with success :-)) on GSoC2014 with OpenMRS (openmrs.org) on Atlas project. And I’m currently the lead dev and maintainer of OpenMRS Atlas server (atlas.openmrs.org), and OpenMRS Atlas Module (https://dev.openmrs.org/#/show/atlas/).

Cheers,

Alexis DUQUE

Hi Alexis!

Welcome to RIOT!