Getting started on macOS

Hello/hallo,

Is this the right place to make some comments about the first-time use of RIOT? If not, please tell - I did not find a community forum link ...

I'm trying to build and run a very first demo app with RIOT, e.g. examples/hello-world/ for STM32F4. It's tricky. I'm a seasoned open-source C/C++ developer with quite a bit of macOS & Linux & embedded experience. My dominant development platform is macOS Catalina with command-line tools.

* I've installed all the pre-requisites with homebrew, i.e. gcc-arm-embedded, openocd, etc * fwiw, macOS 10.15 is 64-bit only, so the older tutorial can't be used * gcc-arm-embedded runs into tons of Catalina protections, preventing gcc etc to run * the default make on 10.15 (3.81) is deemed too old, I had to install and use gmake from homebrew * gmake flash fails, because openocd (0.10.0) reports "open failed" in ocd_bouncer * I worked around this using a manual upload via st-util and arm-none-eabi-gdb * pyterm fails, because pyserial is missing, the default python3 in macOS 10.15 is 3.7.3 * pyserial cannot be installed with the default python3, fortunately homebrew has a 3.8 variant

Success at last, on the host side:

$ BOARD=stm32f4discovery gmake term PORT=/dev/cu.usbmodem1461303 Welcome to pyterm! Type '/exit' to exit. 2020-03-05 11:39:16,685 # main(): Thmain(): This is RIOT! (Version: 2020.04-devel-983-g1a30b) 2020-03-05 11:39:16,686 # Hello World! 2020-03-05 11:39:16,691 # You are running RIOT on a(n) stm32f4discovery board. 2020-03-05 11:39:16,694 # This board features a(n) stm32f4 MCU.

So yes, RIOT is possible for a newcomer, on the latest macOS with homebrew. But it's tricky.