Compiling on Windows 7

Hello,

I am trying to compile Riot on Windows 7 and I am using the gcc-arm-embedded toolchain with build tools downloaded (make and rm) from Sourcery CodeBench with Eclipse as the IDE. I am having problems compiling the code.

I am trying to compile the HelloWorld example by using the Makefile in the folder $(RIOTBASE)/examples/hello-world. This makefile includes $(RIOTBASE)/Makefile.include and there is no problem with this step. However, I am getting an error message with further makefile includes from within this file.

For example one of the error messages I get is

C:/Users/ram.somaraju/Desktop/RIOT-master/examples/hello-world/…/…/Makefile.include:47: C:/Users/ram.somaraju/Desktop/RIOT-master/examples/hello-world/C:/Users/ram.somaraju/Desktop/RIOT-master/Makefile.modules: Invalid argument

Clearly, this is not a well defined path, but I have not been able to fix it. Is there an easy solution to this problem? I am a Makefile novice and am not sure how to proceed.

Thank you very much for any help/advice you can provide.

Kind Regards,

Abhinav

Hi Abhinav!

Sorry for the late reply.

I am trying to compile the HelloWorld example by using the Makefile in the folder $(RIOTBASE)/examples/hello-world. This makefile includes $(RIOTBASE)/Makefile.include and there is no problem with this step. However, I am getting an error message with further makefile includes from within this file.

For now I have no clue what could cause this error message, but I'll give it a try with my Windows machine at home, when I find some time and see if can shed some light on this.

One thing that sometimes causes weird Make errors on Linux are trailing spaces in the Makefiles, e.g. after the definition of the PROJECT^h^h^h^h^h^h^hAPPLICATION name.

Cheers, Oleg