CoAP with DTLS example?

Hi everyone,

I was wondering, is there any working example for DTLS + CoAP? I saw some WIP by janosbrodbeck - here and here, but nothing in the main branch.

Is it possible to somehow integrate gcoap or just nanocoap on top of the dtls-socks example?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Best, Emil

PS. I’m new to embedded stuff, sorry if my questions are silly.

1 Like

Ping @janosbrodbeck :wink:

Hi sssemil,

there is currently no example for CoAP with DTLS in upstream RIOT. As far as I know, my dev branch you posted is currently the only working gcoap-DTLS branch.

In my branch the gcoap example is already adapted, so you only have to set GCOAP_ENABLE_DTLS to 1. It should work fine so far (if not please inform me about issues), but it is not 100% ready yet. I hope to update the related pull request very soon. Primarily I am still missing the access to the DTLS epoch to complete it. Nevertheless: coap messaging and observable resources should work.

If you just want to use nanocoap: There is an example for using the nanocoap_server . But it seems that it is just a very basic coap server. You would need to integrate dtls here. Should be fairly easy if session management is not taken into account.

If you have any problems or questions just ask, I will do my best to help you :wink:

1 Like

Hi Janos,

thanks! Everything works :slight_smile: Coap messaging is all I need.

Best, Emil

Just one warning: On boards it currently crashes. The gcoap and main stack are too small. Have not yet adjusted the example/gcoap makefile regarding that.

main stack can be adjusted with CFLAGS += -DTHREAD_STACKSIZE_MAIN=xx
gcoap stack with: CFLAGS += -DGCOAP_STACK_SIZE=xx

For the main stack 3*THREAD_STACKSIZE_DEFAULT should be sufficient.

EDIT: stack size changes are now pushed.