Add package and static library issue

Hello every one! I would like to add an external package. Before trying to build the package’s sources into RIOT (I struggle on this I am new to makefiles), I provide the pre-built static library ns_pkg_lib.a on one side, and all the header of the package on another side.

I rely on the package cryptoauthlib, which uses a static library. Let me do the comparison :

Makefile.cryptoauthlib and Makefile.ns_pkg_lib are the same (the name of the module changes of course).

in pkg/cryptoauthlib/Makefile.include :

PKG_SOURCE_DIR ?= $(PKGDIRBASE)/cryptoauthlib PKG_TESTINCLDIR = $(PKG_SOURCE_DIR)/test

INCLUDES += -I$(PKG_SOURCE_DIR) INCLUDES += -I$(PKG_SOURCE_DIR)/lib INCLUDES += -I$(PKG_SOURCE_DIR)/app INCLUDES += -I$(RIOTPKG)/cryptoauthlib/include

DIRS += $(RIOTPKG)/cryptoauthlib/contrib

ARCHIVES += $(BINDIR)/cryptoauthlib.a

in pkg/ns_pkg_lib/Makefile.include :

NS_SOURCE_DIR ?= $(RIOTBASE)/build/pkg/ns_pkg_lib

INCLUDES += -I$(NS_SOURCE_DIR)
-I$(NS_SOURCE_DIR)/lib \ #this is where the .a is found -I$(NS_SOURCE_DIR)/ns_pkg_lib/include/ns_pkg_lib-interface
-I$(NS_SOURCE_DIR)/ns_pkg_lib/ns_pkg_lib-eventloop/
-I$(NS_SOURCE_DIR)/nanostack/ns_pkg_lib-event-loop/platform
-I$(NS_SOURCE_DIR)/drivers/802.15.4_RF
-I$(RIOTPKG)/ns_pkg_lib/include

DIRS += $(RIOTPKG)/ns_pkg_lib/contrib

ARCHIVES += $(BINDIR)/ns_pkg_lib.a

in pkg/cryptoauthlib/Makefile : fetches the repo, make the lib and do cp $(PKG_BUILD_DIR)/libcryptoauth.a $(BINDIR)/$(PKG_NAME).a

in pkg/ns_pkg_lib/Makefile: We fetch the repo but we do not make the package as the .a is already provided, then cp $(PKG_SOURCE_DIR)/lib/ns_pkg_lib.a $(BINDIR)/ns_pkg_lib.a

I can tell this line works because I have ns_pkg_lib.a file in tests/pkg_ns_pkg_lib/bin/board_used/