Riot OS - Problem with pm_layered API

Hi,

I’m trying to use pm_layered API with Bluepill board (STM32F103). I’ve wrote a simple code, creating a thread and executing it every minute. The thread just toggle the embedded LED.

I want the MCU to be in sleep mode when not in used (after changing the LED state, and during a minute). I tried using pm_set_lowest(), but there’s no difference : the MCU consumes about 12mA.

I’m a firmware beginner, so I surely do something wrong. Do you have any simple example of how to use pm_layered API (preferably with STM32 core) ?

Thank you for your help, Thibaud.

Hi Thibaud,

Welcome and thanks for your interest in RIOT! I also apologize for replying so late.

STOP and STANDBY low-power modes are supported on STM32F1 so you should be able to make it work.

I guess you already read the very minimal pm_layered module documentation [1].

Calling "pm_set_lowest" won't switch to deep sleep modes because they are all blocked by default [2]. The simplest way is to directly call "pm_set" from your application code to force the switch to STOP (1) or STANDBY (0) low-power modes. The other (preferred) way is to globally unblock one (or more) mode by setting CFLAGS += '-DPM_BLOCKER_INITIAL={ .val_u32 = 0x01010001 }' (here it unblocks STOP mode) and to "let" RIOT switch to low-power mode when it switches to the idle thread.

You also need to think of a way to wakeup the CPU: either via an interrupt, this will work with STOP mode and STANDBY mode (if a wakeup pin is enabled [3]), or using an RTC alarm (not yet supported on F1, but there's a PR for this [4]).

Do you have any simple example of how to use pm_layered API (preferably with STM32 core) ?

You can have a look at [5] where the updated "examples/lorawan" application plays with "pm_unblock"/"pm_block" functions to automatically switch to low-power modes: you'll have to remove the lorawan related parts and integrate the PR adding RTC to make it work on stm32f1.