Question regarding RIOT-OS Arduino module

Dear RIOT user mailing list,

My name is Afif, i am a student majoring in Computer Engineering and currently learning about how to use RIOT-OS for my project. My primary objective in this project is creating an NDN-RIOT plant monitoring IoT system using Arduino boards. There's some question that i would like to ask regarding RIOT-OS.

So here's my question : 1. I was trying to run the arduino-hello world example that was provided in RIOT, but when i try to run the program by using "make all" there's an error that said the system expect an Arduino board library. Is that supposed to happen? 2. I went and change the board in arduino_hello-world from native to my arduino-mega2560 but there's another error that said my pyterm didn't have serial module. So after few research in the internet i found out i need to install pyserial, but even after i installed pyserial in my RIOT/dist the problem still remain. Is there something else that i need to do? 3. So i try to build my own program using Arduino sys library, my program is a simple DHT sensor reader that include DHT library, but it seems like there's always a library missing in my program from each library include such as Arduino.h and then esp8266_version.h etc. Do i need to copy every library from Arduino to my RIOT/sys/arduino/include ?

Can anyone please kindly help me solve this problem? Thank you for your attention, your answer is much appreciated.

With utmost respect,

Afif Aziz

Hi Afif,

welcome to RIOT!

Dear RIOT user mailing list,

My name is Afif, i am a student majoring in Computer Engineering and currently learning about how to use RIOT-OS for my project. My primary objective in this project is creating an NDN-RIOT plant monitoring IoT system using Arduino boards. There's some question that i would like to ask regarding RIOT-OS.