openthread and riot - license issues?

Hi,

I currently detect that openthread will be use internally some mbedtls as some library for crypto stuff. This license is apache [0].

Will this not clash with RIOT's LGPL? Or does there exists some replacement for such functionality under another license?

- Alex

[0] https://github.com/openthread/openthread/blob/master/third_party/mbedtls/repo/LICENSE

Hi Alex, we include openthread’s source code as a package so as far as we are concerned (but we are not lawyers) there is no licensing issue. If you know anything different, please let us know!

Cheers, Martine

Hi,

Hi Alex, we include openthread's source code as a package so as far as we are concerned (but we are not lawyers) there is no licensing issue. If you know anything different, please let us know!

I am also not a lawyer. I think I got confused because

"WHICH LICENSES MAY NOT BE INCLUDED WITHIN APACHE PRODUCTS?"

from [0]. But RIOT is not an "APACHE PRODUCT"... , :slight_smile:

but then I still don't get something - there was a discussion about jerryscript in RIOT at riot-summit. Jerryscript is also apache license and the discussion was about license issues between jerryscript and RIOT.

I don't see a difference here now. Maybe somebody knows more? :-/

- Alex

[0] ASF 3rd Party License Policy

Hi all, I have the same problem (I’m preparing the IoTivity Pkg) and I asked to Emmanuel how can I solve it. He answered:

• any code destined (PRed) to be included in RIOT master should be LGPLv2.1
  • any code that is not destined to go into RIOT master follows other applicable license policy

The OpenThread RIOT Pkg is composed by Makefiles and some code released under LGPLv2.1 license. The OT code is downloaded during the compilation phase. I guess there is not any license issue because the PRed code is compliant with the RIOT license.

Have a nice day,

Mattia

Hi Alex,

Hi,

"WHICH LICENSES MAY NOT BE INCLUDED WITHIN APACHE PRODUCTS?"