[ludwig.ortmann@fu-berlin.de: [riot-devel] Native RIOT preview]

Dear riot-users and developers,

we are glad to announce that it is now possible to have a first look at RIOT without the need to access to supported hardware!

Let's start the RIOT! Oleg

Great! Emmanuel

Congratulations for this great achievement!

BTW do you think this could be a first step towards a simulation of RIOT? Because, Monday I will meet ns3 guys, our collegues in Sophia, they will present how they are integrating ns3 and Contiki - so if you are interested, would some specific information be useful for you ?

Best regards, -- Cedric

Hi,

I have no experience whatsoever with ns3, but as far as I understand it: yes and yes.

Off the top of my head: The biggest difference between RIOT and Contiki with regard to interfacing with a simulator is that RIOT has preemptive context switches. This will probably lead to a higher overhead when synchronizing with an external (from the OSs view) clock.

Interesting questions: - are they running the whole Contiki system or just parts? - how does ns3 communicate time / how are they handling time? - at what level (driver/hardware/syscall) do they intercept io?

Most interesting of course would be their diff and/or pointers to helpful sources of information.

Thank you for your offer!

Cheers, Ludwig

Cedric Adjih schrieb:

Hello Ludwig, hello Rioters,

For this possible ns3 integration topic, thank to Daniel Camara [in copy], I understood the following: