Introduction, some technical questions.

Hello everyone,

Let me introduce myself, my name is Mateusz and it is my first message here, in this community I am a student of AGH academy in Cracow. New hardware and software platform design for 6LoWPAN is my subject of Masterthesis. In the following year I am supposed to run a small 6LoWPAN mesh and performwide tests showing the potential of 6LoWPAN. Its usage is seen in industrial sensor meshes. The debate about IoT operational systems revolved around Contiki, RIOT, Thread and ARM EmbedOS. Despite some work has been done around Contiki by previous student, we chose RIOT as it is the fastest developing system.

Up till now, I have done:

• EFM32WG port to RIOT system - libraries, startup, vectors have been included to the project (locally);
  • usart and timer implementation (console is working, hwtimer too); Generally speaking system is functional but it’s still in the beginning stage.

Couple of topics and some technical questions I have:

1. UART communication - searching through the libraries, I didn’t find any solution based on interrupt handling or DMA. Is it necessary to implement DMA or Interrupt writing?
  2. What is the difference between thread and posix thread. Which is desired in IoT software?