Connectivity between new NG stack and loopback

Hello everyone,

I’m new to RIOT and currently trying to test the connectivity between a RIOT instance on native and the loopback. I’m currently using the ng_networking.elf from the examples and while I can pass messages between 2 RIOT instances using this example I would also like to be able to have a connection with the loopback on my machine for future tests but I can’t seem to make it work. If someone could give me a quick walkthrough or help me figure out where my mistake is I would really appreciate it. I’m sure this must seem trivial .

Thank you, Alex

Hello Alexandru,

I am not certain that this method is bullet-proof, but you can try the following:

• Create a tun/tap interface:

sudo openvpn --mktun --dev tap0 [FYI: I did not test this method with the tapsetup script]

• Enable the interface:

sudo ip link set dev tap0 up

• start ng-nativenet

make term PORT=tap0 [FYI: Starting RIOT with tap0 will assign an ip address to tap0]

• In Linux: lookup the ipv6 address of tap0

ifconfig tap0

• Start a udp server on Linux

nc -ul %tap0 13377 [ It is necessary to use the suffix %tap0 in order to give a hint to Linux that this is a tun/tap device]

• In RIOT: start a udp server and happily communicate with linux

udp server start 13377 udp send 13377 HELLO-RIOT

• In Linux: netcat will receive this message and you can reply by just typing something in your shell

I hope this helps

cheers, Cenk

Hi Alex,

have a look at the microcoap example [1], which uses marz [2] to connect the RIOT node with your »normal« localhost. The RIOT application in this example is a just a server (and only reacts on requests), but it shouldn't be too hard to extend/customize.

The marz code is a bit spaghetti like, and maybe I will build a better solution in the near future, as I need the same functionality you do for testing a gateway.